Natural Resources

Mines Branch

The Mines Branch has three divisions within the department


  • Managing the province's mineral resources
  • Collecting and disseminating information on the province's geology and mineral resources
  • Administering exploration for mineral resources
  • Administering exploration and development of quarry materials
  • Administering development and closure of mines and quarries
  • Rehabilitation of abandoned mines


  • The mineral exploration and mining industries
  • Construction companies using quarry materials
  • Other provincial and federal agencies
  • The general public


Perry Canning
Assistant Deputy Minister
Telephone: 709-729-2768
Anne Butland
Secretary to the Assistant Deputy Minister
Telephone: 709-729-2762
Fax: 709-729-2871

Additional Contact Information

^ Top of Page

Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.