Natural Resources

Mineral Development Division


The Mineral Development Division is responsible for approvals for the development and operation of mines, monitoring and analysis of the mining industry, development of mineral policy, management of incentive programs for exploration and development, and for the rehabilitation of hazards associated with abandoned mines.


  • Engineering Analysis
    • Administration of the Mining Act, including monitoring mine and hard rock quarry operations and review of development, operation and closure plans.
    • Evaluation of information from prospective and operating mines to ensure mineral resources are extracted in the best interests of both the operator and province.
    • Inspection and rehabilitation of orphaned and abandoned mines.
  • Mineral Industry Analysis
    • Tracking commodity prices, capital spending and workforce levels.
    • Monitoring progress on benefit agreements.
    • Production of a mineral information newsletter, Mineral Resource Information (MINFO) and Mineral Industry Overview, Mining in Newfoundland and Labrador.
    • Collection, editing and maintenance of statistics on the mineral industry in Newfoundland and Labrador.
    • Performance of commodity studies.
  • Administration of Mineral Incentives Program including:
    • Junior Exploration Assistance – defray 50% of approved eligible costs to a maximum of $100,000 per undertaking on the island and $150,000 per undertaking in Labrador.
    • Natural Stone Assessment – to encourage prospecting & development of dimension and building stone and industrial minerals to a maximum of $50,000 per project.
    • Prospector Grants – provision of grants, as well as prospector training courses.


  • The mineral exploration and mining industries
  • Other government departments and agencies
  • The general public


Alex Smith
Telephone: 1-709-729-6379
Fax: 1-709-729-3493
Bernie Brazil
Clerk Typist
Telephone: 1-709-729-6380
Fax: 1-709-729-3493

Additional Contact Information

Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.